3/23/2026

"Guess I'm Falling in Love" Spoon

New stuff from Spoon. Great song. Take listen...

I'm back. I needed a little break but don't want to lose the habit of writing every day, so here I am.

Today's Confession: THE ATHLETE

This confession is a little fuzzy on dates and I can't even remember the last name of THE ATHLETE, but the details I do recall. Before I get to my confession, I wanted to share something that I have observed in my dating career and that is: NEVER DATE SOMEONE WHO YOU THINK IS BETTER LOOKING THAN YOU.

It's true. At least in my experiences. I think the rules aren't the same when finding a life partner--there are other factors to consider, but in this case if you are planning to reproduce, having an attractive spouse isn't a bad plan. Still, while dating, if you don't want to be dumped, cheated on or left heart-broken, you better be the more attractive in the relationship.

Now, please, don't think I am shallow. I am not. I have been there before. I was the ugly duckling. I am admitting it. Just stay with me, here.

I can think of other reasons that some of the guys I dated potentially left. Most of the time it had to do with not wanting to mess with a kid that wasn't theirs. I get that. It also seems that these guys were a handful of years younger than I was, and usually that is a turn off too (dating an older gal). Dating in my late 40's guys were always looking younger. And often times, MUCH YOUNGER. But I was in my 20's when I met this one, so this was pre-kid-prime time peak physique for me.

THE ATHLETE was better looking than me.

I mean, he was Adonis, and I was no Venus. Now, there's a sad story..Anyway, I was lifeguarding at the local gym in the summer months to make a little exta money but also, I was in training for a mini triathlon, so I was putting in the time. I met THE ATHLETE in the pool, as he would come in during my shift to swim laps. I'm talking ripped like I've never seen before. He was built like a brick shithouse. There was only one thing about him that was odd:

He only had one leg.

The story as he told it goes when he was a boy he grew up on a farm and would take the tractor out to mow or do fieldwork (again, some of it is fuzzy). One day while he was mowing, the tractor flipped and it severed his leg just above the knee. So he uses a prostetic. He was in school at the time and was planning to specialize in prostetics so he could help other patients who suffered like he did as a boy.

Pretty impressive story, to be sure. Sad thing, THE ATHLETE liked to just talk about his training, his diet, and even more boring, his past races. This was the 90's, before cell phones had great cameras, but I suffered through a few albums of race photos in other countries and here at home. Yikes!

I hope THE ATHLETE is out there doing what he set out to do and making people feel like they can recover from something so agonizing.

Wonder what his wife looks like...

No comments: